Stars To Steer By

The misadventures of a creative mind

My New Favorite Blackberry Pie August 18, 2014

I love pies – I love making them, I love being able to try new ones and enjoy old favorites. So when I think of summer I often think in terms of pies, specifically fresh berry pies. I’ll be the first to admit that I’m a bit of a traditionalist when it comes to these pies – I like them with two standard crusts, as many berries and you can fit between them, sweetened with a bit of sugar and livened up with a splash of lemon juice. They are always great (even if I can’t get them to set up for the life of me). So when my boyfriend asked for a sourcream pie, I was skeptical. Turns out, it may replace traditional blackberry as my new favorite blackberry pie.


Note: The recipe may be a little skewed because I sort of made it up while I was cooking without doing a lot of measuring. So feel free to adjust things as you like.


Crust:

1/2 box of graham crackers
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter
1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup oats


Filling

16 oz sour cream
1 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
3 tablespoons flour
3 tablespoons cornstarch


Berries – fresh blackberries if you can find them. I won’t bother telling you how many cups because it changes based on your pie dish. What I do is wash the berries and then fill up the pan to the desired depth. For this pie fill up the brim, then take out a handful or two (the sour cream takes up some room).




Putting it together:


Crust:

1. Crush the graham crackers into powder.
2. Melt the butter
3. Stir in the pulverized crackers, sugar, and cinnamon. (Do not add the oats. I know they’re a listed ingredient but you have to wait).
4. Press 2/3 – 3/4 of the mixture into the pie pan, making sure to come up the sides to create a full crust. Using a fork to do this is very helpful.
5. Bake the crust at 375 for 10 min.
6. Add the oats to the remaining crumb mixture.


Filling:

Stir together all the ingredients except the berries until well combined. Try to make sure that all the lumps from the flour and cornstarch are out.


Finishing the pie:

Once your crust is cooked, stir the berries into the sour cream mixture and pour into the pan. Sprinkle the top with the crumb/oat mixture. Bake at 375 for 35-40 minutes, until the edges are starting to get a little golden and the pie is fairly set (if you jiggle it only the center should move).

IMAG0326

Cool and enjoy. My first batch, I filled the pie pan quite full of berries, so it made one fairly thin (standard I suppose, I just like deep dish) pie, and 5 mini ones in cupcake tins.

IMAG0324

 

Leave a Reply

