Stars To Steer By

The misadventures of a creative mind

Pie, Pie, Pie! June 30, 2013

Filed under: Daring Baker Challenges — Cisa @ 12:37 am
Tags: ,

It’s that time again…actually I’m a little late posting this months Daring Bakers challenge. Rachael from pizzarossa was our lovely June 2013 Daring Bakers’ host and she had us whipping up delicious pies in our kitchens! Cream pies, fruit pies, chocolate pies, even crack pies! There’s nothing like pie!

P1020120

 
Before starting this post, I should share a short story. When I was in 8th grade there was a science trip that I wanted to go on. My parents said I could go so long as I raised the money myself. So I set up a little pie making operation and sold apple pies through the holidays. This worked remarkably well, I made more than enough to go on the science trip, and had the added bonus that I rarely need to actually measure ingredients for pie’s any more. So I apologize if some of these measurements are a little off, in fairness, no two pies are ever the same.
 
 
Pie Crust:
 
2 1/4 – 2 1/2 cups flour
1 – 3 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon salt
2 sticks cold butter
1/3 cup shortening (1 large scoop)
5-7 tablespoons ice water
 
1. Combine the dry ingredients.
2. Cut in the fats (butter and shortening) until the pieces are slightly smaller than peas.
3. Add the water 1-2 tablespoons at a time, being careful not to over wet the dough.
4. Here you have a choice. I generally roll my dough out right away because I am impatient. My sister chills her’s for half an hour or so before rolling it out. Honestly I don’t think it makes a difference but it’s up to you. Note that when you do roll out your dough it should be no thicker than 1/4 inch, and you should use as few strokes as possible to keep it from getting tough.
 
 
Filling:
 
5-6 apples (I used a mixture of Granny-smith, Johnny-gold, and Cameo)
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup flour
3 teaspoons cinnamon
2 tablespoons lemon juice
 
1. Thinly slice the apples.
2. Combine all of the ingredients and mix thoroughly – this is the fun step because you get to taste the mix and adjust the sugar/lemon/cinnamon as you like.
4. Layer the apples into your pie shell.
5. Once all the apples are in add the second shell.
6. Back at 350 for 40-50 minutes (You make wrap the edges in foil for the first 20 minutes if you like).

 
 
Let’s see. There were a few things I did differently- firstly I always use a food processor to make my pie doughs. It makes the whole process ridiculously easy. Second, my pies almost always come out a bit on the soupy side. I”m not sure if this is because they are eaten straight out of the oven and haven’t had a chance to set or because I’m not using enough thickening agents. You may want to add cornstarch or more flour to the filling recipe f your worried about extra juice. Thirdly, I wasn’t looking for plain apple pie the other day (this was dessert for my Italian Dinner night), so I added some raspberries between the layers of apples which added a really nice flavor contrast. It was nice having an excuse to make pie again, can’t wait till later this summer when the raspberry pie will make its triumphant return!
 
P1020126
 

 

Leave a Reply

