Stars To Steer By

The misadventures of a creative mind

Banana Bread March 6, 2013

Filed under: Kitchen Catastrophes — Cisa @ 6:44 am
Tags: ,

Banana bread is one of those foods in my house that is synonymous with comfort. A thick slice off a loaf fresh out of the oven is guaranteed to make almost anyone smile, even my sister who “hates” bananas. So a little while ago, when she was having a rough day and I had some bananas I’d forgotten to eat, I went ahead and made banana bread.


Me being me, I was of course missing several of the ingredients called for in my recipe (only semi-important things like baking soda, shortening, and loaf pans…I did go to the store and got the loaf pans and shortening, but managed to forget the baking soda). Still, regardless of a slightly odd taste due to doubling the baking powder to compensate for the missing soda, the banana bread was a treat well enjoyed by my sister and I. Here’s hoping you like it to!



Ingredients:

1 3/4 cups flour

1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoon salt

2/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup shortening

2 eggs

2 tablespoons milk

1 cup mashed banana

1/4 cup chopped walnuts



The How To:


1. Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl.


2. Cream shortening and sugar until light and fluffy.


P1020543


3. Add the milk and eggs.


P1020544


4. Alternate adding the dry ingredients and the mashed banana until everything is mixed in.


5. Stir in the walnuts

P1020545


6. Pour the batter into a greased loaf pan.


P1020546


7. Bake at 350 for 60-65 minutes (until tester comes out clean). Enjoy!


P1020547

 

Leave a Reply

